North Carolina EV Statutes

Definition of Plug-in Electric Vehicle (NC General Statutes 20-4.01 (28b))

A four-wheeled motor vehicle that does not have the ability to be propelled by a gasoline engine and that meets each of the following requirements:

Is made by a manufacturer primarily for use on public streets, roads, and highways and meets National Highway Traffic Safety Administration standards included in 49 C.F.R. § 571.

Has not been modified from original manufacturer specifications with regard to power train or any manner of powering the vehicle.

Is rated at not more than 8,500 pounds unloaded gross vehicle weight.

Has a maximum speed capability of at least 65 miles per hour.

Draws electricity from a battery that has all of the following characteristics:

Incentives (NC General Statutes 20-4.01, 20-146.2 and 20-183.2)

HOV Lane Access: Qualified plug-in electric vehicles, dedicated natural gas vehicles, and fuel cell electric vehicles may use North Carolina HOV lanes, regardless of the number of occupants. North Carolina General Statutes 20-4.01 and 20-146.2

Exempt from Emissions Inspection Requirements: Qualified PEVs and FCEVs are exempt from state emissions inspection requirements. Other restrictions may apply. North Carolina General Statutes 20-4.01 and 20-183.2

Annual Electric Vehicle Fee (NC General Statutes 20-87)

At the time of an initial registration or registration renewal, the owner of a plug-in electric vehicle that is not a low-speed vehicle and that does not rely on a non-electric source of power shall pay a fee in the amount of one hundred forty dollars and twenty-five cents ($140.25) in addition to any other required registration fees.

Ready to join North Carolina’s Electric Vehicle movement?

Contact Us